IPL Records: See best records of the tournament over the last 13 editions of the league.

| |

IPL Records: Indian Premier League, the biggest franchise T20 league of the world is annually being organized by BCCI since it’s inauguration in 2008. In its 13th edition, which is being organized in UAE, the tournament is the most popular cricket tournament in the globe by some margin.

Over the years, there have been unpredictable matches with unbelievable results. When the first edition of IPL was organized in 2008, it was all about the glamour of Bollywood being fused with cricket, resulting in nothing but entertainment for the fans.

Now in 2020, it’s no longer a favourite past-time for players who got a break from all year of International cricket. ICC has a separate window for IPL and some players have even sacrificed their International duties over IPL contracts.

Cricket is often known as the game of numbers. There are many numbers associated with cricket. From runs, wickets and overs to individual scores, targets and strike rate, there are a lot of numbers in cricket.

Collecting these numbers over the years have resulted in records. The preservation of records has been impressive in cricket since it’s early days. In this era of Internet and social media, cricket records are available all over the internet. It’s never been this easy for fans to access records of their favourite players or teams.

IPL Records: Team Records

IPL Records
Mumbai Indians are all-time best IPL winners with 4 titles

Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in IPL history. They have 4 titles under their belt. See the full list of IPL winners:

Year Winner Team
2008 Rajasthan Royals
2009 Deccan Chargers
2010 Chennai Super Kings
2011 Chennai Super Kings
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders
2013 Mumbai Indians
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders
2015 Mumbai Indians
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Mumbai Indians
2018 Chennai Super Kings
2019 Mumbai Indians
Teams Winning year
Mumbai Indians 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 (4)
Chennai Super Kings 2010, 2011, 2018 (3)
Kolkata Knight Riders 2012, 2014 (2)
Sunrisers Hyderabad 2016 (1)
Deccan Chargers 2009(1)
Rajastan Royals 2008(1)

Teams Scoring Records:

Highest Total:

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 263/5 vs Pune Warriors India (2013 edition)

Lowest Total:

Royal Challengers Bangalore 49/10 vs Kolkata Knight Riders (2017 edition)

Highest Match Aggregate:

469/10 where, CSK (246/5) and RR (223/5) (2010 edition)

Lowest Match Aggregate:

135/10 where, DD (67/10) and KXIP (68/0) (2017 edition)

IPL Records: Individual Records

IPL Records
Virat Kolhi (India) and Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka) are the highest run-scorer and highest wicket-taker of IPL respectively.

Virat Kohli is the all-time highest run-scorer of IPL. He is also the only player who has played for the same team (Royal Challengers Bangalore) from the first edition to the latest edition of the tournament. Here is the list of top 5 highest run-scorer of IPL:

Rank Player Runs Team Matches Innings
1 Virat Kohli 5,759 RCB 186 178
2 Suresh Raina 5,368 CSK, GL 193 189
3 Rohit Sharma 5,158 DC, MI 197 192
4 David Warner 5,037 DD, SRH 135 135
5 Shikhar Dhawan 4,938 DD, MI, SRH, DC 168 167

The highest individual score of a player is in the name of Chris Gayle. His 175 runs off 66 balls against Royal Pune Warriors in 2013 edition of a tournament is the highest score by an individual player. Here is the list of top 5 individual scores by a batsman in IPL:

1Chris Gayle175RCBPWI
2Brendon McCullum158KKRRCB
3AB de Villiers133RCBMI
5AB de Villers129*RCBGL
The records are as of 9 October 2020

Here is the list of top 5 wicket-takers in IPL:

1Lasith MalingaMI170
2Amit MishraDD, DC, SRH160
3Piyush ChawlaKXIP, KKR, CSK156
4Dwayne BravoMI, CSK, GL153
5Harbhajan SinghMI, CSK150
The records are as of 9 October 2020

On 9 October 2019, Alzarri Joseph took the best figures of IPL (6/12) playing for Mumbai Indians in his debut match. Here is the list of Top 5 bowling figures of IPL as of 9 October 2020:

16/12Alzarri JosephMISRH
26/14Sohail TanvirRRCSK
36/19Adam ZampaRPSSRH
45/5Anil KumbleRCBRR
55/12Ishant SharmaDCKTK
IPL Records
MS Dhoni holds the record of both most dismissals and most career catches by a wicket-keeper batsman in IPL.

Here are the Wicket-Keepers with most dismissals in IPL:

Rank Player Dismissals Period
1 M.S Dhoni 147 2008-
2 Dinesh Kartik 135 2008-
3 Robin Uthappa 90 2008-
4 Parthiv Patel 82 2008-
5 Wriddhiman Saha 75 2008-

Here are the Wicket-Keepers with most catches in IPL:

1M.S Dhoni200108
2Dinesh Kartik191105
3Parthiv Patel13966
4Wriddhiman Saha11365
5Wriddhiman Saha18458
IPL Records
Suresh Raina holds the record of most catches taken by a player.

Here are the 5 players with most catches in IPL:

1Suresh Raina193102
2Kieron Pollard15789
3Rohit Sharma19688
4AB de Villers16385
5Dwayne Bravo14075

Click here for more detailed records of Indian Premier League.

Click here for all the updates and analysis of IPL 2020.


IPL 2020 Predictions: See how teams could qualify for the playoffs after 32 games being played.

How to Watch IPL 2020 in Nepal, After Clean Feed Policy?


Leave a Comment